Introducing Melbourne’s 12 new suburbs

As you’ve probably heard, the Andrews Labor government has rezoned 12 suburbs to build 50,000 new homes in Melbourne.

The aim? To feed the demand for housing and land supply in Australia’s fastest-growing city.

What are the 12 new suburbs in Melbourne?

Treasurer Tim Pallas recently told the Urban Development Institute of Australia (UDIA) work will begin on the new suburbs within four years.  

The new suburbs across greater Melbourne’s west, north, northwest, and southeast will be:

  • Beveridge North West – 42km North
  • Wallan South – 45km North
  • Wallan East – 45km North
  • Merrifield North/Kalkallo Basin – 46km North
  • Shenstone Park – 33km North
  • Lindum Vale – 32km North
  • Craigieburn West – 35km North
  • Pakenham East – 56km South-East
  • Officer – 54km South-East
  • Croskell – 39km South-East
  • Kororoit Part 2 – 29km West
  • Aviators Field – 25km South-West

What people saying about the new ‘burbs

Here’s what some authority figures are saying:

  • Unlocked land will provide “affordable new homes in well-planned communities.” Pallas says plans for the new suburbs include a mixture of employment, residential and mixed-use neighbourhoods, with town centres, cycling and walking paths, and schools.
  • Victorians will have more opportunities “to own their own home.” Pallas highlights first home buyers will find it easier to buy a property with stamp duty discounts and new communities to find or build their dream home.
  • The new suburbs “could support up to 50,000 jobs.” As noted by The Urban Developer, the rezoning means more than 20,000 in a new employment precinct in Officer and more than 13,000 jobs near Kalkallo and Beveridge.

What are your thoughts on the new suburbs?

If you’re looking to move in the meantime,  ask your real estate agent about Listing Loop. You can be the first to know about just listed properties in great locations!